Education in place of child labour

Lotuscrafts stands for social justice and respectful coexistence. With our donation to the association 'terre des hommes', we support projects in India that protect children from violence, slavery and exploitation.

Logo terre des hommes
The children's relief organisation terre des hommes is an independent association that has been working for disadvantaged children worldwide for over 50 years. The aim of the association is to create an " Earth for Humanity " by supporting orphans and refugee children as well as young victims of war, violence and abuse. terre des hommes sees itself as a children's relief organisation that consistently aligns its work with children's rights. The organisation of self-help projects as well as the care, education and training of girls and boys in schools and child protection centres is realised with experienced project partners on site.

Child labour in the textile industry

With numerous weaving mills, sewing factories and dye works, the city of Karur in the Indian state of Tamil Nadu is dominated by the textile industry. Despite compulsory schooling in India, thousands of girls and boys do hard work under inhumane conditions. Instead of playing or going to school, the children sew, pack, wring or mix dangerous chemicals. Even if the wage for an 11-hour day is less than 80 euro cents, the children's additional income ensures the survival of poor families. In India, the caste system and discrimination against girls also make access to education and income difficult.

Offering perspectives

One terre des hommes project involves cooperation with the „Fair for kids“initiative, which since 2009 has built a school centre with boarding school and a training centre. This is where the Indian project partner Psycho Trust prepares former child labourers to attend regular school. In another shelter centre, the children can play, do sports, paint or take part in theatre workshops. Young people receive training in tailoring and textile design. At events, parents are also taught the importance of an education for their children. In the past years, more than 28,000 children and adolescents have taken advantage of the services offered by Psycho Trust.

Our products, manufactured according to GOTS criteria, come from those regions in India where terre des hommes has been campaigning for children's rights for many years. We at Lotuscrafts have therefore decided to support the worldwide project work of terre des hommes against exploitative child labour, especially in India. For every meditation cushion sold, we are happy to donate 1 € to this cause that is dear to us.

Bildung statt Kinderarbeit

Lotuscrafts steht für soziale Gerechtigkeit und ein respektvolles Miteinander. Mit unserer Spende an den Verein ‚terre des hommes‘ unterstützen wir Projekte in Indien, die Kinder vor Gewalt, Sklaverei und Ausbeutung schützen.

Logo terre des hommes
Das Kinderhilfswerk terre des hommes ist ein unabhängiger Verein, der sich weltweit seit über 50 Jahren für benachteiligte Kinder einsetzt. Ziel des Vereines ist es, durch die Unterstützung von Waisen- und Flüchtlingskindern sowie jungen Opfern von Krieg, Gewalt und Missbrauch eine „Erde der Menschlichkeit“ zu schaffen. terre des hommes versteht sich als Kinderhilfswerk, das seine Arbeit konsequent an den Kinderrechten ausrichtet. Die Organisation von Selbsthilfeprojekten sowie die Betreuung, Erziehung und Ausbildung von Mädchen und Jungen in Schulen und Kinderschutzzentren wird mit erfahrenen Projektpartnern vor Ort realisiert.

Kinderarbeit in der Textilindustrie

Mit zahlreichen Webereien, Nähereien und Färbereien ist die Stadt Karur im indischen Bundesstaat Tamil Nadu von der Textilindustrie geprägt. Trotz der allgemeinen Schulpflicht in Indien verrichten tausende Mädchen und Jungen harte Arbeit unter menschenverachtenden Bedingungen. Statt zu spielen oder zur Schule zu gehen, nähen, verpacken, wringen oder mischen die Kinder gefährliche Chemikalien. Auch wenn der Lohn für einen 11-Stunden-Tag weniger als 80 Euro-Cent beträgt, sichern die zusätzlichen Einnahmen der Kinder das Überleben armer Familien. In Indien erschweren außerdem das Kastensystem sowie die Diskriminierung von Mädchen den Zugang zu Bildung und Einkommen.

Eine Perspektive bieten

Ein Projekt von terre des hommes umfasst die Zusammenarbeit mit der Initiative „Fair for kids“, mit der seit 2009 ein Schulzentrum mit Internat sowie ein Ausbildungszentrum aufgebaut wurden. Der indische Projektpartner Psycho Trust bereitet hier die ehemaligen Kinderarbeiter auf den Besuch der Regelschule vor. In einem weiteren Schutzzentrum können die Kleinen spielen, Sport treiben, malen oder an Theater-Workshops teilnehmen. Jugendliche erhalten Ausbildungen in den Fächern Schneidern und textile Gestaltung. Bei Veranstaltungen wird auch den Eltern die Wichtigkeit einer Schulbildung für ihre Kinder vermittelt. In den vergangenen Jahren haben mehr als 28.000 Kinder und Jugendliche die Angebote von Psycho Trust genutzt.

Unsere nach GOTS-Kriterien erzeugten Produkte stammen aus jenen Regionen in Indien in welchen sich terre des hommes für die Rechte von Kindern seit vielen Jahren einsetzt. Wir von Lotuscrafts haben daher entschieden, die weltweite Projektarbeit von terre des hommes gegen ausbeuterische Kinderarbeit, insbesondere in Indien, zu unterstützen. Für jedes verkaufte Meditationskissen möchten wir gerne 1 € für dieses uns wichtige Anliegen spenden.